Skip to content

Nominate your sporting stars for North West Leicestershire awards

Sports awards 2016

Nominations are now open for North West Leicestershire’s annual celebration of sporting excellence and dedication.

The North West Leicestershire Local Sports Alliance Sports Awards return on Thursday 23 November, to Hermitage Leisure Centre in Whitwick.

The night provides a fantastic opportunity for the community to recognise and reward local athletes, coaches, volunteers, sports clubs and schools within North West Leicestershire whose achievements and leadership inspire and motivate others.

Nominations can be made in 16 categories for athletes, coaches, volunteers, clubs and schools who have achieved in the world of sport between September 2016 and September 2017. The deadline for nominations is 5pm on Friday 29 September.

The categories are: 

  • Senior Sportsperson of the Year
  • Disabled Sportsperson of the Year
  • Senior Team of the Year
  • Club of the Year
  • Senior Volunteer of the Year
  • Senior Coach of the Year
  • Junior Volunteer of the Year
  • Junior Sportsman of the Year
  • Junior Sportswoman of the Year
  • Junior Team of the Year
  • School Team of the Year
  • Primary School of the Year
  • Secondary (High & Upper) School of the Year
  • Active Lifestyle Award
  • Community Award
  • Award for Outstanding Contribution to Sport and Physical Activity  

Councillor Alison Smith MBE, Deputy Leader and Portfolio Holder for Community Services at North West Leicestershire District Council, said: “The annual Sports Awards give us the opportunity to recognise and celebrate the hard work of both sports people and volunteers in our communities.

“I know we have some hugely talented and devoted sports people in this district and if you know someone who is deserving of recognition I would encourage you to nominate them.”

Everyone who puts in a nomination will be entered into a prize draw to win a three-month gym membership at Hermitage, Hood Park and Measham Leisure Centres. 

For full details on how to nominate and the award categories, visit

Share this page:

Back to top