The death of Her Majesty the Queen

Published: Thu 8 September, 2022

Councillor Russell Boam, Chairman of North West Leicestershire District Council, said: “North West Leicestershire District Council joins the nation in mourning the death of Her Majesty The Queen on this very sad day.

Picture of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II“Her Majesty dedicated her life to the service of this country and the Commonwealth and we are grateful for that service.

“We will fly the Union Flag at half-mast at the Council Offices during the period of Royal mourning.

“Members of the public are welcome to lay floral tributes at our temporary garden of remembrance on the lawns outside the Council Offices, where you will also be able to sign the book of condolence.”

Books of condolence

Books of condolence will be opened on Friday 9 September at the North West Leicestershire District Council Offices on Whitwick Road in Coalville (LE67 3FJ).

This will be available to sign between 8am and 5pm Monday to Friday.

Additional books of condolence are available across the district (full list below). 

Floral tributes

The official garden of remembrance for North West Leicestershire is on the lawns outside the Council Offices in Coalville.

Other towns and villages have established places for floral tributes.

Members of the public are asked to remove cellophane wrapping before laying flowers. 

After an appropriate period and in accordance with the guidance set out by Buckingham Palace, any flowers and tributes from places in the above list will be cleared away.

Additional books of condolence and floral tribute locations

Additional books of condolence and locations for floral tributes are available across the district.

Condolence books

  • Ashby Town Council offices (Legion House, South Street, Ashby de la Zouch LE65 1BQ)
  • Castle Donington, The Community Hub (101 Bondgate, Castle Donington DE74 2NR)
  • Kegworth Parish Council Offices (1 London Road, Kegworth, DE74 2EU)
  • Measham Leisure Centre (Off High Street, Measham, DE12 7HR)
  • Heather, David Taylor Memorial Hall (Swepstone Road, Heather, Coalville LE67 2RE)
  • Whitwick, Park Hall (Whitwick Park, Off North Street, Whitwick, LE67 5HB)
  • Ibstock, The Palace (Community Centre, High Street, Ibstock LE67 6LH)
  • Swannington The Village Hall (Main Street, Swannington LE67 8QL)
  • Virtual Book of Condolence –

Floral tributes

  • War Memorial garden, Market Street and Brook Street in Ashby
  • The Community Hub and St Edwards Church
  • Inside Kegworth Parish Council Offices
  • The front of St Laurence Church, High Street, Measham
  • Front of David Taylor Memorial Hall
  • The grassed area at the side of Park Hall
  • In the Centenary Room at the Palace Ibstock

More information

A dedicated webpage has been created in tribute to Her Majesty The Queen:

Two minutes silence

North West Leicestershire District Council will join organisations across the country in observing a two minute silence. Details of this will be confirmed on the webpage.