The Equality Act 2010 bans unfair treatment and helps achieve equal opportunities in the workplace and within society.

The Act replaced previous anti-discrimination laws with a single act to make the law simpler and to remove inconsistencies.

This makes the law easier for people to understand and comply with. The Act also provides more protection in some situations.

What is the Equality Act?

A new Equality Act came into force in 1st October 2010. The Equality Act brings together over 116 separate pieces of leglisation into one single act.  Combined, this Act provides a legal framework to protect the righs of individuals and advance equality of opportunity for all.

The Act covers nine 'protected characteristics', which cannot be used as a reason to treat people unfairly. Every person has one or more of the protected characteristics, so the Act protects everyone against unfair treatment. The protected characteristics are:

  • age
  • disability
  • gender reassignment
  • marriage and civil partnership
  • pregnancy and maternity
  • race
  • religion or belief
  • sex
  • sexual orientation.      

Who does the Act apply to?

All public sector organisations, including North West Leicestershire District Council, are also legally required to adhere to the Public Sector Equality Duty, which outlines practical ways in which an organsation can meet its legal obligations under the Act.

For more information on the Equality Act 2010 and related legislation or guidance, please visit the EHRC website.

For more information on the Public Sector Equality Duty please view the government website.

Share this page:

Last updated: Thu 30 January, 2020 @ 12:43